18 June 2016 Current Affairs

18 June 2016 Current Affairs

IAF creates History by Inducting 3 Women Fighter Pilots For First Time

The Indian Air Force (IAF) created history by inducting 3 women fighter pilots for first time. These three women fighter pilots are Bhawana Kanth, Avani Chatuvedi and Mohana Singh. They were commissioned in the Indian Air Force (IAF) after passing out from the Air Force Academy near Hyderabad on 18 June 2016. Each of the three has cleared the first stage of training and has about 150 hours of flying. After getting their wings as flying officers, they will now train for six months on the Advanced Jet Fighter (AJT), the British-built Hawk.In October 2015, the Union Government had decided to open the fighter stream for women on an experimental basis for five years.

India – South Korea Launch Platform To Promote Investments

“India and South Korea on 18 June launched a platform to promote and facilitate investments from the east Asian country. The platform “”Korea Plus”” was launched by commerce and industry minister Nirmala Sitharaman and her South Korean counterpart Joo Hyung-hwan. The mandate of Korea Plus platform covers the entire investment spectrum including supporting Korean enterprises entering the Indian market for the first time. It will be also looking into issues faced by Korean companies doing business in India and policy advocacy to the Indian Government on their behalf. It shall comprise a representative each from the South Korean Ministry of Industry, Trade and Energy (MoITE) and Korea Trade Investment and Promotion Agency (KOTRA). Besides, it also includes three officials from Invest India.”

“Chetan Chauhan Appointed as NIFT chairman”

“Former BJP MP and cricketer Chetan Chauhan has been appointed as the chairman of the prestigious institution – National Institute of Fashion Technology (NIFT) – dedicated for teaching promoting fashion studies. The NIFT Act, 2006, says the chairperson to NIFT (the statutory body under the Ministry of Textiles) is expected to be an eminent academic, scientist or technologist or professional to be nominated by the Visitor of the institute, who is the President of India.”

Australia Won 2016 Champions Trophy Title of Hockey

“Australia on 18 June won Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2016 at the Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre in London. It defeated India 1-0 in a shoot-out. With this victory, Australia created history by winning the title for record 14 times.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s